National Hunger and Homelessness Awareness Week

National Hunger and Homelessness Awareness Week provides us with an opportunity to see more, learn more, and do more about poverty in our local community. Though this week is observed nationally, our focus is on the problems of hunger and homelessness right here in Bloomington, Indiana.

Join us November 16-22 to support Martha’s House, Mother Hubbard’s Cupboard, Shalom Community Center, and Stepping Stones in the fight against poverty.

One response to “National Hunger and Homelessness Awareness Week

  1. When I saw the government figure of $21 a week per person for food in the paper I became excited. I began to look at all my old grocery receipts, which I save in order to track prices. I found weeks in which my husband and I spent $18 a week per person, others weeks as high as $23 but our average was $22. We never thought of ourselves as poverty stricken and we eat pretty well. Also, we have company without additional spending. I could get it down more if my husband didn’t drink soft drinks.
    I am writing a cookbook on how to cook well on a budget for my children. I am certainly available to advise those who would rather spend their money on more tangible things than prepared food. Cooking is not difficult and I almost always prefer my own cooking to ready made and even restaurant food. One should be careful not to attach social values to ordinary foodstuffs. Like “oh, beans, that’s what poor people eat”. Best of luck to you all.

Leave a Reply

